1. The competition will take place from September 12th to September 20th 2023.

    Organs: Kirche St. Ursula, Johannesgasse 8, 1010 Vienna (1st round),
    Kalvarienbergkirche, Sankt-Bartholomäus-Platz 3, 1170 Vienna (2nd round),
    Schottenkirche, Freyung 6, 1010 Vienna (finale, prize winners’ concert).

    The specifications of the organs are listed here on this site.

  2. The competition is open to organists of all nationalities born after
    December 31, 1987.


  1. Applications must reach the competition office only electronically via the competition website “www.orgelwettbewerb.at” by June 18, 2023 the latest.
    Later applications won’t be accepted.

    The application must include:
    a. Name, address, date of birth, telephone number and e-mail address
    b. CV and details of study
    c. Declaration of any competition awards or diplomas
    d. Specification of the chosen pieces for the 2nd round, selected from the
        competition programme under item „d“.

  2. The number of competitors is limited. Admittance to the competition is decided by the competition management.

  3. An entry confirmation and the provisional admission will be sent by July 10th, 2023 the latest. Thereafter the application fee of 80€ has to be transferred “free of charge for the payee” to the following account:

    IBAN: AT641500000501307763, BIC: OBKLAT2L
    Recipient: „Camerata Viennensis – FSO“
    Purpose: „Teilnahmegebühr FSO 2023“

    Acceptance is final once the participation fee has arrived in the account of competition. Application fee is non-refundable.

  4. Registration for the competition automatically entails the acceptance of the competition rules.


  1. Upon arrival in Vienna, the competitors are asked to report at University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna – mdw, Seilerstätte 26, 1010 Wien, in the auditorium on the ground floor on September 10, 2023 at 6pm.
    If requested, prospectuses by hotels and pensions in Vienna can be sent after the registration is occurred.

  2. The competition comprises two selection rounds and the finals. Qualifying rounds and finals are played in public. Competitors remain anonymous towads jury until the finale is complete.

  3. The order of appearance will be drawn by lots through the competitors.

  4. The pieces of the competition program must be played according to the competition rules in the sequence chosen by the competitor. Playing from memory is not required.

  5. All competitors will be given the opportunity to rehearse the works for the selection rounds on the organs of competition: preparation time in the days before (about 90 minutes) and practice time just before the play (about 30 minutes). Other practice facilities are provided. All competitors will have equal opportunities.

  6. Registrants are provided by the organizer, but the competitors may also bring their own registrants at their own expense.

  7. After each qualifying round the candidates will be informed about the results. For the competitors, who have not qualified for the next round, a consultation with members of the jury is intended.

  8. All prize winners are obliged to take part gratuitously in the prize winners’ concert and to play the works chosen by the jury.

  9. Video and audio recordings for radio and television as well as live-streaming and internet coverage of the competition are planned. The organizer of the competition reserves all rights (including any future recordings or coverage); any future claims by third parties will not be acknowledged.
    The candidates are not entitled to any financial compensation that may result from radio and television coverage, or in the case of a CD production or audio/video releases via the internet. By submitting their application, all participants grant the organizer of the competition the right to publish personal details and pass these on to third parties.

  10. The organizer can cancel the competition if the execution is hindered due to massive general restrictions, such as earthquake, war or official prohibition. In this case, paid participation fees will be refunded, other expenses or costs will not be reimbursed.


Bernhard Haas, Germany
Margareta Hürholz, Germany
Robert Kovács, Hungary-Austria
Peter Planyavsky, Austria
Liubov Shishkhanova, Russia

Vorsitz/Chairman: Karl-Gerhard Straßl, Austria

  1. Decisions relating to the outcome of the competition are exclusively made by the jury.

  2. The jury will work in accordance with set judging criteria under a chairman without voting right.

  3. The jury’s decisions are finals. Legal recourse is excluded.

  4. The jury reserves the right to withhold the award of any prizes.


Three prizes will be awarded:

1st  Prize: € 6.000.–
2nd Prize: € 4.000.–
3rd  Prize: € 2.500.–

Separate from these three prizes there can be some special awards.

All competitors will receive a confirmation of participation. Additionally to the prize money, the prize winners will receive a certificate and will have the right to call themselves “Prize Winner of the 9th International Franz Schmidt Organ Competition Vienna 2023”. 


a. Hans Haselböck: Toccata serena (1988)

b. Johann Sebastian Bach: „Christus, der uns selig macht“, BWV 747

c. Franz Schmidt: Präludium und Fuge G-Dur (without repetitions)

a. Franz Schmidt: from „Vier kleine Choralvorspiele“:
„O, wie selig seid ihr doch, ihr Frommen“ and „Was mein Gott will“

b. Johann Nepomuk Hummel: Präludium As-Dur und Fuge Es-Dur

c. Peter Planyavsky: Toccata mauritiana (2014)

d. Georg Muffat: from “Apparatus musico-organisticus”: Toccata VIII or IX

e. Johann Sebastian Bach: Allein Gott in der Höh (c.f. Tenor), BWV 663

d. eines der folgenden Wahlstücke:
– Olivier Messiaen: from „L’Ascension“: II. „Alléluias sereins“ and III. „Transports de joie“ 
– Louis Vierne: from 2. Symphonie, op. 20: III. Scherzo and  IV. Cantabile
– Louis Vierne: from 3. Symphonie, op. 28: III. Intermezzo and  IV. Adagio
– César Franck: Fantaisie A-Dur
– Marco Enrico Bossi: Thema mit Variationen, op. 115

a. Camille Saint-Saëns: Fantaisie Des-Dur, op. 101

b. Johann Sebastian Bach: Präludium und Fuge (Toccata) E-Dur, BWV 566
or C-Dur, BWV 566a

c. Johannes Brahms: Präludium und Fuge g-Moll

d. Franz Schmidt: Toccata C-Dur